Are you familiar with NLC? The Nurse Licensure Compact is how many states can require only one license for travel nurses to work at their facilities. It was originally developed in 2000 but included 25 states by 2015. In 2019 the eNLC or Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact was introduced to provide even better standards for the system. If nurses get their first license in eNLC states, they can streamline their process to work in other eNLC states.


The 34 eNCL States

Currently, 34 states are participating in the eNLC. They are:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

The Pending States and the Non-Participatory States

Several states are currently pending the process, and, of course, there are still states that do not participate. Pending states and territories are Massachusetts, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Guam.

States and territories not currently participating in the eNLC program are Alaska, California, Connecticut, DC, Hawaii, Illinois, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington state, and the US Virgin Islands.

 However, just because these states don’t participate in the program doesn’t mean you can’t practice there. You simply need to follow the state’s guidelines for licensing.

The Difference Between eNLC and NLC

Since you will see both eNLC and NLC when you apply for travel nursing jobs, it’s important to understand the difference. Participating states have all adopted universal licensure requirements, known as ULR. This is true for both the original agreements as well as the new system. What it adds is the requirement for state and federal fingerprint background checks.

How to Get Started

If you do already have an NLC, you may be able to maintain that license if you meet the criteria including your state of residency, when you got your original license, and if you haven’t had a disqualifying event since that time. Always contact an expert with questions.

If you’re new to the process, getting your eNLC requires a few things. You need to graduate from a board-certified program, hold a current license, take a state and federal fingerprint background check, meet your states requirement, and a handful of other necessary qualifications.

Resources to Help

The best place to turn is the website for the nursing compact here. There you can learn about the specific state requirements and how to move forward.

Are you ready to start a new career as a travel nurse?

To find out if you qualify for travel nurse jobs, contact Fortus Healthcare Resources.  We would love to connect you to an opportunity to meets your skills and certifications.

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)